In Québec, all individuals who drive a vehicle are subject to a system of demerit points that accumulate when they are found guilty of an offence. The number of points varies based on the type of licence and the driver's age.
In Québec, a demerit point system establishes the number of points that any driver or passenger accumulates if found guilty of certain offences.
Demerit points are entered on a driving record when an individual is convicted of an offence. When the number of demerit points accumulated is equal to or greater than the applicable threshold, the driver's licence is revoked or the right to obtain a licence is suspended.
Licence holders can have points entered on their driving record even if they are not behind the wheel. The same rule applies to individuals who do not hold a driver's licence.
For example, a passenger not wearing a seat belt or someone holding onto a vehicle in motion is subject to demerit points in addition to a fine.
Demerit point brackets are determined on the basis of:
Individuals without a licence who reach or exceed the 4-point threshold…
Will have their right to obtain a licence suspended for a period of 3, 6 or 12 months, depending on the number of points on record.
Certain offences can result in more demerit points than you are allowed to accumulate. For example, excessive speeding can lead to more than 30 demerit points with a single conviction!
In the case of certain offences under the Highway Safety Code, the number of demerit points is based on the severity of the offence.
Points are entered on your driving record once the SAAQ is notified of your conviction by a judicial body, i.e.:
Judicial bodies have a legal time limit of up to 30 days to notify us of demerit points.
For penalty purposes, these demerit points remain on your driving record for 2 years following the date of your conviction.
However, with regard to your driver’s licence payment, the demerit points remain on your driving record for 2 years following the date of their entry.
Demerit points accumulated outside Québec follow you back here
Québec has entered into reciprocal agreements with Ontario, Maine and the State of New York.
As a result, the SAAQ is notified if you commit an offence that leads to the entry of demerit points in those jurisdictions. Those points will be entered on your driving record as if the offence had occurred in Québec.
We will send you a written notice once a certain number of demerit points have been entered on your driving record.
The notice indicates:
|4-point bracket||8-point bracket||12-point bracket||15-point bracket|
No notice issued
After accumulating 4 points or more
After accumulating 6 points or more
After accumulating 7 points or more
Once you have reached or exceeded the threshold of your bracket, you will receive a notice informing you that your licence has been revoked.
The notice indicates:
The licence revocation lasts a minimum period of 3 months. The licence can also be revoked for 6 or 12 months, depending on:
If you hold a driver's licence or a probationary licence and this is your first revocation in 2 years, you can ask a judge for a restricted licence, provided that you demonstrate that operating a motor vehicle is an essential requirement of your main employment. You may apply for a restricted licence once you have received the notice of revocation.
If you drive while your licence is revoked or suspended
The vehicle you are driving will be seized and impounded for 30 days. It will be towed and impounded at the owner's expense. You will also have to pay a $600.00 to $2,000.00 fine as well as legal and administrative fees.
You need to wait until the end of the penalty period and pass a reinstatement test to be issued a new driver's licence.
Having demerit points on your driving record increases the annual cost of your licence
It actually increases your contribution to the Fonds d'assurance automobile du Québec.
Last update: May 13, 2022